Direct Action Texas Statement on House Election Committee

Posted by |

This morning Speaker Dennis Bonnen announced committee assignments for the 86th legislative session. With a keen interest in election integrity, we applaud his selection to head the House Election Committee.

Representative Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth) has been tapped to chair the committee while Philip Cortez (D-San Antonio) will serve as Vice Chair.

Of Klick’s appointment Direct Action Texas Executive Director Daniel Greer said, “Representative Klick has great depth of knowledge and cares deeply for proper election administration. We commend Speaker Bonnen and his staff for her selection to lead the committee.”

Joining Klick and Cortez are Representatives Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park), Celia Israel (D-Austin), Valoree Swanson (R-Spring), John Bucy III (D-Austin), Dustin Burrows (R-Lubbock), Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville), and a member from House District 79 recently vacated by Joe Pickett (D-El Paso).

This session’s Election Committee is comprised almost entirely of new members. Celia Israel and Swanson are the only returning members. Rep. Israel was Vice Chair of the committee in 2017.

Direct Action Texas looks forward to working with and being a resource for all members of the committee as we work to rid Texas elections of fraud, add greater transparency, and permanently safeguard the cornerstone of our representative democracy.

Related Tags: , ,

Pin It on Pinterest